Go to the MFA show at Flux Factory before June 5

Check out the 2011 MFA Thesis Exhibition. I (Jenn) went Sunday and had a great time, as did my daughters who tried to send naughty postcards to their grandparents, commented on seeing penises, and made a collaborative work in Hector Madera-Gonzalez’s installation using lots of colored tape! We also picked out our favorite dots on Gregory Haye’s work – we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Flux Factory is easy to get to and open every day from 1-6 – make the trip! The show is up until June 5.

Exhibiting Artists:

Linda Bernal <http://www.lindabernal.com/> , Julia Cocuzza <http://juliacocuzza.com/> , Gregory Hayes <http://gregory-hayes.com/> ,
Megan Hays <http://www.meganhays.com/> , Michele Liebler, Hector Madera-Gonzalez <http://hectormaderagonzalez.com/> ,
Allison Merz <http://allisonmerz.com/> , Madison Omahne <http://madisonomahne.blogspot.com/> , Ivan Rivera <http://piaculum.com/> ,
Nooshin Rostami <http://nooshinrostami.com/> , Natalie Taylor <http://www.natalierosetaylor.com/> , Boris Torres <http://www.boristorres.com/>
MEMORY PALACE
Brooklyn College MFA Thesis Exhibition 2011
Curated by: Adam Thompson
FLUX FACTORY <http://www.artslant.com/ny/venues/show/13341-flux-factory>
39-31 29th street
Long Island City, NY
Click here for Travel Directions <

May 20th – June 5th

Description:

Memory Palace – Brooklyn College MFA Thesis Exhibition 2011

The ‘memory palace’ is an ancient memorization technique, one which exploits the fact that our visual/spatial memory far outperforms our verbal and numerical memory. To memorize a long text or string of numbers, you can use a remembered architectural space (like a childhood home) as a mental storehouse for the new information. You can transform each to-be-remembered item into a dramatic, eccentric, unforgettable image, mentally insert these images into specific locations within the remembered space, and later ‘find’ it right where you left it.

This show resembles a memory palace, in that it is idiosyncratic rather than unified, and endeavors to make a virtue of this heterogeneity. The differences between images, experiences, personalities are what make them visible, meaningful, and memorable. We can’t help but categorize artworks, but when we do we inevitably obscure what most compels us about them. It is particularity–not generality–that arrests our attention.

The idiosyncrasy of visual expression renders art a perpetually uneasy collaborator with academe, since schools necessarily prioritize rational, categorical thought. But the title of this exhibition provides an analogy for how this collaboration can function productively; the memory palace technique requires both wildly varied imagery and a framework to anchor and link that imagery. In an MFA program, the school supplies the quantitative structures that order the experience–the space, the time, the schedules, the deadlines–and the students furnish the bureaucratic boxes with color, with strangeness, with life.

When the palace fragments, when the menagerie vanishes and the walls of the studios are once again whitewashed clean, these sundry art practices will likely find themselves in more isolated rooms. But while at Brooklyn College, this group of artists built a home from their differences, a place to which they can always return in their mind’s eye.

Adam Thomson

http://memorypalace2011.com/bc.html

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: